Fri | May 31, 2024, 6:19 am
No. of Site Visitors: 13800979

The Laguna State Polytechnic University (LSPU) was initially established in 1952 as a provincial secondary school known as Baybay Provincial High School, the first public high school in the shoreline district of Laguna de Bay. In 1957, it was converted into Baybay Agricultural and Vocational School (BNAVS) by Republic Act (RA) No.1807. 

With the passage of House Bill (HB) 269 into law in June 1971, Rep. Act No. 6327, BNAVS was then converted into Baybay National College of Agriculture and Technology (BNCAT), followed by its conversion into a state college known as Laguna State Polytechnic College (LSPC) on June 10, 1983.

Laguna State Polytechnic College grew more prominent and better from then on with the incumbency of Dr. Ricardo A. Wagan as the first College President in 1986. Through Memoranda of Agreements with the local government officials, Dr. Wagan realized the establishment of satellite campuses such as LSPC Nagcarlan Satellite Campus (S.Y. 1991-1992); LSPC Santa Maria Satellite Campus (S.Y. 1992-1993); and LSPC Cabuyao Campus (S.Y. 1993-1994). The integration phase of three (3) Commission on Higher Education (CHED) Supervised Institutions by the Special Provision No. 2 of the CHED FY 1999 Budget under the General Appropriations Act of 1999 transpired under Dr. Wagan’s incumbency.

In January 1999, the former Laguna College of Arts and Trades in Santa Cruz, Laguna, was integrated to LSPC by R.A. 8745, R.A. 7722, and R.A. 8292, hence known as Laguna State Polytechnic College-Santa Cruz Campus. In the same year, Los Baños College of Fisheries at Los Baños Laguna was also integrated into LSPC by R.A. 7722, known as the Higher Education Act of 1994, and R.A. 8292, Higher Education Modernization Act of 1997. 

Under CHED Memorandum Order No. 27, s. 2000, Implementing Guidelines of the Integration of CHED-Supervised Institutions (CSIs) to State Universities and Colleges (SUCs) Phase II, the formal turn-over ceremony took place relative to the integration of San Pablo City National School of Arts and Trades at San Pablo City to LSPU. 

President Wagan marked remarkable and distinctive achievements for LSPC. The established multi-campus institution amplified the number of non-degree and degree curricular programs/offerings that necessitated hiring more teachers due to increased enrollment. There was also intensified rehabilitation, repair, and construction of academic buildings and relevant facilities. Graduate programs were launched, which paved the way for acquiring state-of-the-art equipment.

Likewise, President Wagan opened doors to neighboring Asian countries through academic and cultural exchange and partnership programs. He signed numerous memoranda of agreements (MOAs) and sisterhood agreements with Changwon College and Changwon High School in South Korea and Thai Nguyen University of Agriculture and Forestry in Vietnam.

In the 13th Congress of the Philippines, during its 3rd Regular Session, R.A. No. 9402 converted Laguna State Polytechnic College into a State University, appropriating funds thereof; approved by the Philippine President's Office on March 22, 2007, with Dr. Ricardo A. Wagan as its first University President.

Today, LSPU offers relevant, affordable, and accredited fourteen non-duplicated curricula programs. Nurtured by Dr. Nestor M. De Vera, the 2nd university president, LSPU established an additional satellite campus in Lopez Quezon (S.Y. 2011-2012) with curricular programs in Agriculture and Fisheries and LSPU Extension Magdalena Manpower Training Center (S.Y. 2014-2015). 

In addition to the existing international academic programs, the excellent and strong leadership of President De Vera had established partnerships with universities along the Asia Pacific Region such as Phnom Penh International University in Cambodia; Saigon Technology University, and Nong Lam University in Ho Chi Minh City and Hung Vuong University in Phu Tho Province, SRV; and Yunnan Agricultural University in China.

Supporting the Philippines’ National Development Agenda of Human Development and Poverty Reduction and Economic Development, LSPU helps the government make education the central strategy for investing in human resources to reduce poverty while inviting economic growth and national competitiveness. The university tries to achieve the center of sustainable development and higher-level accredited status, under the equally dynamic and innovative administration of its 2nd University President, Dr. Nestor M. De Vera.

LSPU is a SUC Level III Higher Education Institution, while most of the academic programs are accredited by the AACCUP ranging from Level III re-accredited status to preliminary status for new programs. The BSED, BSIE, and Industrial Technology programs are candidates for Level IV re-accreditation status, while the Teacher Education Program of the San Pablo City Campus is awarded the Center of Development (2016). Likewise, the university’s four campuses received an ISO 9001: 2015 Certification in 2018 for its quality management system while passing the Institutional Accreditation, Level I for its quality institutional operation.

Dr. Eden C. Callo was designated as officer-in-charge, Office of the LSPU President, while the search for the 3rd university president was ongoing. (CHED Special Order 26, s.2019).

On May 22, 2019, Dr. Mario R. Briones was named as the 3rd LSPU President (BOR Resolution 1410, s.2019).

The leadership of President Briones during the first year had shown the following accomplishments: approval of the enhanced curriculum (CMO PSG 2017), establishment of the LSPU-Liliw Pilot-extension classes in Liliw, Laguna (BOR Resolution 21, s.2019); nationally recognized as an ISO 9001:2015 government higher education institution, Regional PASUC Chairperson, reconstruction of the university’s organizational structure, and review and updating of all the university’s manuals of operations for quality management system.

The onslaught of the COVID-19 pandemic brought an unprecedented change in the educational landscape of the university. To cope with the new normal, President Briones initiated the conceptualization of the LSPU curriculum and instruction framework for the new normal. The LSPU Board of Regents approved the university’s concepts and processes in migrating to the new normal, adopting Flexible Learning as a Delivery Model (BOR Resolution 61, s.2020), and LSPU Pandemic Plan based on a series of institutional studies and workshops for implementation on September 21, 2020.