Thu | July 25, 2024, 12:01 am
No. of Site Visitors: 14631154










April 26, 2024   San Pablo City Campus   Campus Wide

Home/ News & Articles/ LSPU students showcase debate, designing prowess in IP Clash 2024
LSPU students showcase debate, designing prowess in IP Clash 2024

The LSPU students never cease to amaze!

This was proven once again with the showcasing of debating and logo-making prowess of the students of the Laguna State Polytechnic University-San Pablo City Campus (LSPU-SPCC) in the “2024 IP Clash: The 1st LSPU IP Showdown,” held at the College of Teacher Education (CTE) Function Hall, April 26.

Coinciding with World IP Day and the celebration of the National Intellectual Property (IP) month, the event aimed to promote awareness of intellectual property rights among the students and faculty of the campus. 

It was hosted by the Innovation & Technology Support Office (ITSO) with the Intellectual Property and Technology Business Management (IPTBM) of the LSPU-SPCC in cooperation with the Center for Innovation and Emerging Technology (CIET). 

Michelle C. Gonzales, Chairperson of ITSO LSPU-SPCC, spearheaded the event with Thessalonica M. Sinohin, Chairperson of IPTBM LSPU-SPCC, and the officers and members of The Innovator’s Club.  

The College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) secured a landslide victory for both the debate competition and logo-making contest, with their representatives snatching first place. Meanwhile, the CIT claimed second place in the debate competition while the College of Computer Studies (CCS) won both second and third place in the logo-making contest. 

The debaters demonstrated not only their eloquence but also their awareness of matters concerning intellectual property such as their views on patenting of different technologies. 

Forming the panel of judges for the debate competition were Atty. Rushid Jay S. Sancon, Campus Director of the LSPU-Los Baños Campus (LSPU-LBC); Atty. Kristina C. De Vera, Legal Assistant III; and Mr. Avelino Audije, Chairperson of National Service Training Program of LSPU-SPCC. Dr. Imelda C. Carada, Professor II from the College of Teacher Education, acted as its moderator. 

Meanwhile, Dr. Victoria E. Tamban, Chairperson of ITSO LSPU-LBC, and Mr. Kevin A. Amante, Information Officer III, served as the judges for the logo-making contest. 

Gracing the event with their words of support were Dr. Robert C. Agatep, Vice President for Research Development and Extension; A/Prof. Joel M. Bawica, Campus Director of LSPU SPCC; and Dr. Juliet A. Caramonte, Director of CIET. 

Mr. Joshua S. Latayan served as the master of the ceremonies of the one-day event. 

The event organizers extended their appreciation for the support of Dr. Mario R. Briones, University President, for the success of the first LSPU IP Showdown.


Photo credit to: The Technology Advocate